REPORT ON THE VISIT OF DEPARTMENT-RELATED PARLIAMENTARY STANDING COMMITTEE ON SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY, ENVIRONMENT & FORESTS TO HP

(10th & 11th June 2016)

Department-related Parliament Standing Committee on Science & Technology, Environment & Forests visited the state of Himachal Pradesh on 10th & 11th June 2016. The objective behind this visit of the Parliamentary Committee was to discuss with the representatives of NOGs/ Civil Society Organizations, Government of Himachal Pradesh, Himalayan Forest Research Institute (HFRI), G.B. Pant Institute of Himalayan Environment & Development, Forest Survey of India (NZ), Geological Survey of India, Ministry of Mines, National Disaster Management Authority, Ministry of Home Affairs and Union Ministry of Environment, Forest & Climate Change and Himachal Pradesh Forest Department on recent forest fires and its effect on environment, forest, biodiversity and wildlife and remedial/ preventive measures.

In this context, Ministry of Environment, Forests & Climate Change, Government of India had assigned the duty of making all the necessary arrangements for visit of the Committee to the state of Himachal Pradesh, accompanying the Committee on behalf of the Ministry to Himalayan Forest Research Institute, Shimla. Therefore, the HFRI had coordinated with the officials of the State Government, Central Ministries, various institutions, NGOs and Civil Society Organization and ensured their participation. Director, HFRI and his team coordinated the visit of the Committee on way to Shimla, showed the recent fire affected areas in and around Kasauli of district Solan. Dr. S.P. Vasudeva, IFS, PCCF, Himachal Pradesh and his team of Forest Officers of Himachal Pradesh Forest Department remained also present during this visit.

For discussion on the incidence of forest fires of the Parliamentary Committee with various stakeholders was organized in the Conference Hall of Marina Hotel, The Mall, SHIMLA at 09.30 am, which continued up to 11.00 am. The following participants were present in the meeting:

Name of the Participant

Department

1.	Smt. Renuka Chowdhury	Hon'ble Chairperson of the Parliamentary Committee
2.	Shri Paul Manoj Pandian	Hon'ble Member of the Parliamentary Committee
3.	Shri Pankaj Chowdhary	Hon'ble Member of the Parliamentary Committee

4.	Shri Vikram Usendi	Hon'ble Member of the Parliamentary Committee
5.	Smt. Vasanthi M.	Hon'ble Member of the Parliamentary Committee
6.	Shri Pana Patole	Hon'ble Member of the Parliamentary Committee
7.	Shri Bhupinder Singh	Hon'ble Member of the Parliamentary Committee
8.	Dr. K. Gopal	Hon'ble Member of the Parliamentary Committee
9.	Shri Daddan Mishra	Hon'ble Member of the Parliamentary Committee

10. Shri Narmadeshwar Prasad

11. Smt. Saroj Bala Rikh Private Secretary to Chairperson

12. Shri Rajeev Saxena Assistant Director13. Shri Bhim Singh Senior Assistant

14. Dr. Rekha PaiInspector General (Forests), MoEF & CC15. Shri A.K. MohantyDy. Inspector General (Forests), MoEF & CC

16. Shri R.D. Dhiman Principal Secretary (Forests) to the Government of H.P.

17. Dr. S.P. Vasudeva PCCF, Himachal Pradesh

18. Dr. VRR Singh APCCF, Himachal Pradesh Forest Department
 19. Shri S.K. Sharma APCCF, Himachal Pradesh Forest Department
 20. Dr. R.C. Kang APCCF, Himachal Pradesh Forest Department

21. Shri H.S. Dogra CCF (Protection & Fire Control)

22. Shri P.L. Chauhan CCF (Wildlife)
23. Shri Ashok Kumar Chauhan DFO, Solan
24. Shri Anit Sharma DFO, Shimla

25. Shri Kunal Satyarthi Member Secretary, H.P. State Council for Science & Technology

26. Shri D.D. Sharma Special Secretary, State Disaster Management Authority **27.** Shri Vineet Kumar Member Secretary, H.P. State Pollution Control Board

28. Dr. Kulraj Singh Kapoor Director, HFRI, Shimla

29. Dr. B.D. Suyal Regional Director, FSI (NZ), Shimla
 30. Dr. S.S. Samant Scientist-in-Charge, GBPIHE&D
 31. Shri Sanjeev Kumar Director, Survey of India, Chandigarh

32. Shri K.S. Yadav Regional Controller of Mines

33. Shri R.K. Rana DIG, OPS, National Disaster Response Force34. Shri A.S. Rawat DIG (Police), State Headquarters, ITBP, Shimla

35. Shri I.A. Khan Assistant Director, NDCC

36. Dr. T.N. Lakhanpal Professor Emeritus (Retired), HPU, Shimla37. Dr. Lal Singh Director, Himalayan Research Group, Shimla

38. Dr. Maninder Jeet Kaur Member Secretary, Himalayan Research Group, Shimla

39. Shri S.K. Joshi Sevahar, BCS, Shimla

40. Shri Sandeep Rana H.P. Eco-development Society, Palampur

41. Professor Ajay Srivastava Umang Foundation, Shimla

42. Shri Hari Shyam Upadhayay Ashadeep Shimla

43. Mrs. Kamla Devi Mahila Van, Paryawaran Suraksha Smiti, Paonta-Saheb44. Mrs. Sumitra Devi Mahila Van, Paryawaran Suraksha Smiti, Paonta-Saheb

45. Shri Kidwa Ramm Van, Paryawaran Suraksha Smiti, Paonta-Saheb

A very healthy discussion on various aspects of forestry, environment and wildlife with special emphasis on forest fires viz.-a-viz. the various aspects of developmental projects were held. Hon'ble Chairperson was of the strong opinion that there is a dire and immediate need of educating the people, especially youths towards forest fires and there should be a clear-cut provision for deployment of forest fire watchers under the MNREGA Scheme during fire season.

At the end, the Chairperson thanked all the participants for attending this important meeting and giving their valuable input and suggestions, which will definitely help the union government in making policy for the control of forest fires. She applauded and thanked the Director, HFRI and his team for making all necessary arrangements for conduct of this important meeting.

After this, the Committee also visited some of the recently fire affected areas in and around Chail, district Solan, Himachal Pradesh on 11th June 2016 and gathered some ground realities behind the cause of forest fires. The Committee also interacted with the local peoples and the forest officials and tried to capture their views on forest fires.

Some Glimpses of the Visit of Parliamentary Standing Committee































































